Home Sports When was the final time the Mumbai Indians gained their opening match of an IPL season?

When was the final time the Mumbai Indians gained their opening match of an IPL season?



Mumbai Indians (MI) as soon as once more didn’t win their opening Indian Premier League (IPL) sport this 12 months. They misplaced to Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by eight wickets on the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Sunday, April 2.

For the uninitiated, five-time champions MI haven’t gained their opening sport within the T20 extravaganza beneath Rohit Sharma’s captaincy since 2012. That 12 months, they beat Chennai Tremendous Kings (CSK) by eight wickets beneath Harbhajan Singh’s management.

Since 2012, MI have misplaced to RCB (2013), Kolkata Knight Riders (2014 & 2015), now-defunct Rising Pune Supergiants (2016 & 2017), CSK (2018), Delhi Capitals (2019), CSK (2020), RCB (2021), and DC (2022), respectively.

Curiously, Rohit Sharma and Co. have gained their 5 IPL titles regardless of shedding their opening fixture in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

The Mumbai-based franchise will now look to return to profitable methods of their subsequent IPL sport towards CSK at residence on Saturday, April 8.

Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis shine of their IPL 2023 opener as Tilak Varma’s 84 goes in useless

A scientific batting efficiency from RCB openers Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis helped the hosts register a complete eight-wicket win towards Mumbai Indians on Sunday.

Kohli remained unbeaten on 82 off 49 balls, together with 5 sixes and 6 boundaries. Du Plessis, alternatively, hit 73 off 43 deliveries, together with six maximums and 5 boundaries.

Collectively, the duo shared a partnership of 148 runs for the opening wicket. Glenn Maxwell additionally remained unbeaten on 12 off simply three balls, hitting two sixes.

Earlier, Tilak Varma scored 84* off 46 balls to assist MI submit 171/7 of their allotted 20 overs after being requested to bat first. The southpaw hit 4 sixes and 9 boundaries throughout his glittering knock.

Nehal Wadhera and Arshad Khan additionally contributed 21 and 15 after huge weapons – captain Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Cameron Inexperienced, and Tim David – didn’t ship with the bat.

Karn Sharma emerged because the choose of the bowlers for RCB, ending with figures of two/32.

Mohammed Siraj, Reece Topley, Akash Deep, Harshal Patel, and Michael Bracewell settled for one wicket apiece.

Fast Hyperlinks

Extra from Sportskeeda



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here