Thursday, March 30, 2023
HomeBusinessJohn Lonyangapuo amongst Ruto's contemporary State appointees

John Lonyangapuo amongst Ruto’s contemporary State appointees

Economic system

John Lonyangapuo amongst Ruto’s contemporary State appointees

The then Deputy President William Ruto is pictured with the then West Pokot Governor John Lonyangapuo, throughout a gathering with leaders from arid and semi-arid areas of Kenya, at his house workplace in Karen, Nairobi, on April 30, 2019. PHOTO | CHARLES KIMANI | DPPS

John Lonyangapuo, the previous West Pokot governor and Kenya Union Social gathering (KUP) chief, is the most recent beneficiary of profitable State jobs following an appointment on Friday by President William Ruto.

Prof Lonyangapuo has been named the chairperson of the North Rift Valley Water Works Improvement Company (NRVWDA) for 9 months, and the appointment of David Chumba Chemweno has been revoked.

Previous to the August 2022 Basic Election, the previous county chief was certainly one of Dr Ruto’s fiercest critics, along with his occasion supporting Azimio La Umoja One Kenya honcho, Raila Odinga, just for him to modify camps after the Kenya Kwanza Alliance (KKA) took over the nation’s management.

Prof Lonyangapuo just lately introduced that KUP had minimize ties with Azimio, and the occasion has since declared help for President Ruto’s administration.

He accused Azimio of creating unilateral choices that don’t symbolize the views of all associate events whereas describing the coalition because the “biggest menace to democracy, the rule of regulation and nationwide cohesion in our nation’s latest historical past”. Pokot South MP David Pkosing, who’s the occasion’s secretary-general, disagreed with him.

Prof Lonyangapuo, who defended the governor seat on a KUP ticket, was trounced by President Ruto’s ally, Simon Kachapin, who vied beneath the United Democratic Alliance (UDA). The latter garnered 86,476 votes towards the previous’s 84,610.

Nema chair

Appointed alongside Prof Lonyangapuo was Mr Emilio Mugo, the previous chief forest conservator of the Kenya Forest Service (KFS). He has made a comeback to the federal government as chairperson of the Nationwide Environmental Administration Authority (Nema) for 3 years.

Mr Mugo was among the many KFS senior managers despatched on obligatory depart in 2018 for allegedly abetting unlawful logging.

Others had been Patrick Nyaga (Senior Supervisor, Finance and Administration), Dedan Gatiki (Assistant Chief Conservator of Forests, North Rift) and Boniface Simiyu (Deputy Chief Conservator of Forests, Plantations and Enterprise), Francis Kariuki, (Assistant Chief Conservator of Forests Jap Conservancy, Embu) and Cosmas Ikiugu (Assistant Chief Conservator of Forests, Central Highlands).

Lapsset chair

Former Kisauni MP Ali Menza Mbogo has been appointed chairperson of the Lapsset Hall Improvement Authority for 3 years.

Mr Mbogo was on February 10 appointed non-executive chairperson of Kenya Tsetse and Trypanosomiasis Eradication Council. He was additionally one of many 242 individuals the Public Service Fee interviewed for the place of chief administrative secretary (CAS).

He’ll work alongside former Lamu Senator Anuar Loitiptip, who was additionally interviewed for the CAS job. Others had been Shadrack Tulon, Abdikahiya Maalim, Nasra Ibrahim Ibren and Jeremiah Apalia Lomari.

Different appointments

Prof Raphael Munuve, the chairperson of the Presidential Working Social gathering on Training Reforms, would be the new chairperson of the Konza Technopolis Improvement Authority for 3 years.

Additionally within the newest State appointments is Mr Odinga’s ally-turned-foe Odoyo Owidi, who will now head the Lake Victoria South Water Works Improvement Company (LVSWWDA) board from March 10 to June 4. The appointment of Mr Owidi, the previous chair of the Lake Basin Improvement Authority board, adopted the revocation of Daniel Omino’s appointment.

Mr Brown Ondego, the previous Kenya Ports Authority managing director, will function chair of the board of the Kenya Civil Aviation Authority for 3 years beginning March 10, whereas prime plastic surgeon Stanley Khainga will chair the Kenya Medical Practitioners and Dentists Council.

Prof Khainga will work with Prof Stephen Ogendo, Dr Elizabeth W. Gitau, Dr Timothy Theuri Kabaiku, Moses Kiptanui, Sarah Bonaya and Dr Rose Jepchumba Kosgei on the board.

New board members

Dr Rispa Wapkhulu has been named chairperson of the Kenya Literature Bureau and can work with Doris Shianda, Edise Ndirangu, Leisangoo Maselino, Michael Ombaba Monarid and David Kinyor Kimeto, whereas Francis Gichaba landed the function of chairperson of the Kenya Tourism Board.

Different State parastatals which received new board members included the Native Authorities Provident Fund, with Patrick Muchoki, Ruth Charity Wanyonyi, Barbara Kawira Japan, Robley Otieno Ngoje, Samwel Kariuki Maina and Christine Kibet appointed by Treasury Cupboard Secretary Njuguna Ndung’u.

Lydia Wanjiku Kariuki, Meymuna Osman Gabow, Perez Jepkorir, Harrison Njoroge Mwaura, and Langat Kipkoech Leonard landed board member roles within the Kenya Nationwide Buying and selling Company (KNTC), whereas Qalicha Guyo, Annistain Kemunto Mogaka, Rishad Amana, Lilian Apadet and Ezekiel Kibor had been appointed to the Kenya Maritime Authority (KMA) in the identical capability.

Well being CS Susan Wafula appointed Dr Joseph Wafula Mutunga, Thomas Kipkoskei Cheruiyot and Catherine Kathure Samwel as members of the board of administrators of the Kenyatta Nationwide Hospital, whereas Transport CS Kipchumba Murkomen appointed Muhumed Abdi Mohamed as chairperson of the Kenya Railways Company.

The New Kenya Co-operative Creameries Restricted received Rukia Rashid, Col. (Rtd.), David Kipkurui Samoei, Hilda Wangari Gichuku, Geoffrey Noah Angwenyi and Elisha Biwot as its new board members.

This story was first revealed on Nation.Africa.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments